Connect with us


2020 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Odds

Ohio State University has long been seen as one of the most successful programs in college football history, so it should not be a surprise that THE Ohio State University produces some of the best talent in the country, and that talent always finds its way to the NFL.

In fact, in three of the last four seasons, the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year winner has been a former Buckeyes standout, with Joey Bosa joining his brother Nick (2016) and CB Marshon Lattimore (2017) on the winners list a season ago.

No. 2 overall pick Chase Young looks to make it four Buckeyes in five seasons when he takes the field for the Washington Football Team in 2020.

If you’re brand spanking new to betting on football, head on over to our NFL Betting 101 section for all the answers to your questions, in the meantime here are your current odds for NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year.

NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Odds

DE Chase Young (WAS)+250
LB Isaiah Simmons (ARZ)+600
LB Patrick Queen (BAL)+1000
LB Kenneth Murray (LAC)+1100
CB Jeff Okudah (DET)+1600
LB K'Lavon Chiasson (JAX)+2000
DT Derrick Brown (CAR)+2500
DT Javon Kinlaw (SF)+2500
LB Willie Gay Jr. (KC)+2500
DE A.J. Epenesa (BUF)+3300
S Grant Delpit (CLE)+3300
S Xavier McKinney (NYG)+3300
CB CJ Henderson (JAX)+3300
CB A.J. Terrell (ATL)+3300
S Kyle Dugger (NE)+3300
S Antoine Winfield Jr. (TB)+3300
CB Jeff Gladney (MIN)+4000
CB Kristian Fulton (TEN)+5000
CB Jaylon Johnson (CHI)+5000
DE Yetur Gross-Matos (CAR)+5000
All Odds Courtesy PointsBet Sportsbook as of July 18, 2020


Why is Chase Young the Favorite for NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year?

There are many reasons to love Chase Young’s chances to win the 2020 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Award.

First of all, Young is joining a Washington team that is actually quite stacked on their defensive line.

Young will join a Washington defense that has four first-rounders on their line, and will begin the season playing as an edge specialist under new coach and defensive wizard Ron Rivera.

We saw a season ago with fellow Buckeye alum Joey Bosa that joining a team with a wealth of talent on their defensive line can only be beneficial to a young pass-rusher still learning the ropes at the next level.

Speaking of that Buckeyes pedigree, it’s hard to deny the fact that Ohio State has turned into quite the factory for elite NFL talent.

Chase Young’s collegiate numbers dwarfed that of the Bosa brothers, and Young eventually ended his Ohio State career with the second-most sacks in school history (30.5), with 26.5 of those sacks coming in his last two seasons.

Needless to say, there are reasons why Young went No. 2 overall and is the short favorite to be the next Buckeye alum to win a Rookie of the Year Award.

NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Betting Trends

While betting trends are never the “be all, end all” in sports, it does make sense to look at the history of the award to try to identify the best value spots on the board.

Here are some trends to consider when handicapping the field for the 2020 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Award.

• Only three of the last 30 winners of the NFL DROTY Award have been drafted outside of the first round. Of those three picked outside the first-round (Darius Leonard, DeMeco Ryans, and Kendrell Bell), none of them were selected outside of the Top 40 picks.  That should help pare down your board immediately!

• In the last decade, the DROTY Award went to a defensive lineman or “edge rusher” (see 3-4 pass rusher) in six of those 10 seasons.

• A safety has not won the DROTY Award since 1990 when Mark Carrier accomplished the feat. Heading into the 2020 season, there are four safeties listed in the Top 20 Odds to win the award.  In other words, tread lightly if you’re looking to bet on a safety.

• As mentioned previously, three of the last four winners of this award have come from Ohio State University.

• In the past 15 years, inside linebackers have won the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Award more than any other position (6), with EDGE rushers (4) and interior defensive linemen (3) rounding out the top three.

• While cornerbacks have brought home the DROTY Award in two of the past five seasons (Marshon Lattimore and Marcus Peters), they have only won the award three times since 1998.

How Do You Read Defensive Rookie of the Year Betting Odds?

At any given legal online sportsbook, you will see NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Odds listed in a way that may look like this:

Chase Young +250
Isaiah Simmons +600
Patrick Queen +1000
Jeff Okudah +1600

Essentially what this infers is that on a bet of $100, if you were to bet on Patrick Queen to take home the award and he did just that, you’d be rewarded a cool $1000 for your trouble, making your total payout $1100 (your initial $100 bet + $1000 win for the winning wager).

For a deeper breakdown of how moneyline/futures betting works, head on over to our Betting 101 guide that gives you all the details you’ll need to know.


Defensive Rookie of the Year Award Winners

2019EDGE Nick Bosa, 49ers
2018LB Darius Leonard, Colts
2017CB Marshon Lattimore, Saints
2016EDGE Joey Bosa, Chargers
2015CB Marcus Peters, Chiefs
2014DT Aaron Donald, Rams
2013DT Sheldon Richardson, Jets
2012LB Luke Kuechly, Panthers
2011EDGE Von Miller, Broncos
2010DT Ndamukong Suh, Lions
2009LB Brian Cushing, Texans
2008LB Jerod Mayo, Patriots
2007LB Patrick Willis, 49ers
2006LB DeMeco Ryans, Texans
2005EDGE Shawne Merriman, Chargers
2004LB Jonathan Vilma, Jets
2003EDGE Terrell Suggs, Ravens
2002DE Julius Peppers, Panthers
2001LB Kendrell Bell, Steelers
2000LB Brian Urlacher, Bears
1999DE Jevon Kearse, Titans
1998CB Charles Woodson, Raiders
1997LB Peter Boulware, Ravens
1996DE Simeon Rice, Cardinals
1995DE Hugh Douglas, Jets
1994DT Tim Bowens, Dolphins
1993DT Dana Stubblefield, 49ers
1992CB Dale Carter, Chiefs
1991LB Mike Croel, Broncos
1990S Mark Carrier, Bears

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Recent News

More in NFL